Zorn applauds local schools receiving 2019 safety grants

LANSING, Mich. — Sen. Dale Zorn on Friday congratulated area schools awarded grants this week from the state’s 2019 Competitive School Safety Grant Program.

“School safety is critical in fostering a productive environment for students to learn the skills they need to succeed,” said Zorn, R-Ida. “Although many schools have already made vital safety improvements, these competitive grants are part of a continuing effort to protect every Michigan student.”

In 2018, the Michigan Legislature invested a total of $50 million into the grant program to help improve the safety and security of school buildings through the purchase of technology and equipment and through school building safety assessments.

The Michigan State Police (MSP) in October awarded $25 million in grants to 188 schools, school districts and regional education agencies throughout the state — including districts in Clinton, Hudson, Ida, Monroe and Onstead.

This week, the MSP awarded another $25 million in grants. Schools in the 17th Senate District receiving grants are:
• Addison Community Schools — $48,770
• Bedford Public Schools — $186,162
• Dundee Community Schools — $144,394
• Lenawee Christian School, Adrian — $43,776
• Sacred Heart School, Hudson — $48,736
• Sand Creek Community Schools — $97,371
• Tecumseh Public Schools — $210,268
• Whiteford Agricultural Schools, Ottawa Lake — $48,770

A complete list of recipients is available at www.michigan.gov/cjgrants. Click on the “General Grants School Safety” box.

According to the Michigan State Police (MSP), 366 applications were reviewed by a committee that included representatives from the MSP, Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police, Michigan Sheriffs’ Association, Michigan Department of Education, Michigan Association of Non-Public Schools and other school safety professionals.